Dream Journal

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by tripwire45, Sep 30, 2007.

1. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

This thread is something of a spin-off from the SLEEP! thread. When reading about sleep dep and hallucinations, I got to thinking about dreams. This thread may end up going nowhere since most people don't remember their dreams, but I do. Back in the late 1970s-early 1980s, I kept a dream journal of sorts. I finally had to stop because it was taking too long to write everything down. Yeah...I have an active dream life.

While I tend to recall dreams as stories, I don't think they originally occur that way. For instance, last night I had a dream where I was a doctor or at least some sort of medical practitioner (I've been watching a lot of "House" lately). It was always night time and the hospital grounds were a collection of different buildings in some sort of industrial complex. I just remember bits and pieces.

I remember talking to a young mentally ill woman. She may or may not have been suicidal. I knew she had a young son who she might have been abusing or neglecting but I couldn't get her to tell me where she lived. She had relatives with her when I was talking with her but they were more interested in helping her not incriminate herself than really being helpful.

I was getting pretty frustrated. I recall following them to the door of the building as they were leaving, trying to get more information about where the woman lived and what she did when not at hospital. I'm not even sure why she was there in the first place.