1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does the UK education standards recognise IT certs

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Davidh1819, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. Davidh1819

    Davidh1819 Nibble Poster

    Hi Everyone

    I work of an educational organisation that specialise in NVQs an employee has asked me what level a qualification the CompTIA A+ which got me thinking

    The UK has 8 levels of Qualification for example a Level 2 qualification is a GCSE or eqivelant a Level 3 qualification is A level or BTEC a level 5 qualification is a University Degree or equivelent the highest is level 8 which is doctorate and all the others in between and all there equivelents

    Which leads to my main question are any IT certs recognised in these standards?
    Certifications: A+ N+ MCP MCDST MCTS MCITP
  2. UKDarkstar
    Honorary Member

    UKDarkstar Terabyte Poster

    This has been asked/debated before. If you do a search you'll turn up several threads such as this one :


    So yes, the IT certs are recognised and can be mapped to NVQ levels.
    Certifications: BA (Hons), MBCS, CITP, MInstLM, ITIL v3 Fdn, PTLLS, CELTA
    WIP: CMALT (about to submit), DTLLS (on hold until 2012)
  3. wagnerk
    Highly Decorated Member Award

    wagnerk aka kitkatninja Moderator

    Yeah, as the quoted thread that UKD pointed out :)

    Technicially speaking, England is running 2 versions of the NQF (for further education), post 2006 has nine level: Entry, then 1-8. And pre 2006 which the NVQ program is still using only has 5. However Scotland has 12 (1-12) levels, hence why it's not the UK. Plus for higher education there's the FHEQ.

    True level 2 is GCSE, level 3 is A level, level 4 is now HNC/CertHE, but level 5 is HND/dipHE. Level 6 is a BSc/BA. See here.

    Not all IT Qualifications are assessed against the NQF (or OCF), some like CIW & FITS are assessed against the SCQF or some are even assessed against the European Qualifications Framework (EQF). By using these frameworks this allows qualifications to be cross referenced when moving between countries.

    Hope this helps.

    Certifications: CITP, PGDip, BSc, HNC, LCGI, PTLLS, MCT, MCITP, MCTS, MCSE, MCSA:M, MCSA, MCDST, MCP, MTA, MCAS, MOS (Master), A+, N+, S+, ACA, VCA, etc... & 2nd Degree Black Belt
    WIP: MSc in Tech Management

Share This Page