Do you think certs should be used to prove knowledge?

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by Juelz, Jan 25, 2018.

1. Juelz

Juelz Gigabyte Poster

I cant say Im in the cert game.. reason being is I havent worked in IT that long most of the certs that are applicable to my knowledge are just not worth getting secondly the certs Id most like to get are things I have no experience in.. when I get the experience it would make sense to go get the cert. Is this how others look at it? Get certs when you get the experience?

2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

The cert that probably benefited me the most was SCJP, at the time I was a C++ programmer, so I took a certification in something that wasn't my main skill in order to switch track slightly.

I also took the MSCA and several Comptia certifications, which again were either minor part of my role or tangential.

Some of the more interesting stuff I've learnt in my spare time has nothing to do with my job, and generally I'm not looking to certify or take exams.

I say do what suits you, who cares what other people think.

3. nisseki

nisseki Byte Poster

Working experience will always wins over certifications. A recruiter isn't going to hire a CCNA certified person as a network engineer who has never worked as a network engineer.

In my opinion, get certs in an IT field that you find interesting or have a passion for because that will be your motivation and you will retain that knowledge through further study and reading.

I'm currently studying networking because it connects everything together to communicate. It has helped me learn more about IP addressing and protocols.

4. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

Depends on who is hiring