do you study for both tests at the same time, or separately?

Discussion in 'A+' started by cafepithecus, Dec 7, 2012.

1. cafepithecus

cafepithecus New Member

Just a bit of background, I have a lot of personal experience with computers and a ton of work-related training in computer forensics - but no work experience in IT or CF at all. I'm trying to get the A+ under my belt because the three-letter federal agencies require it.

I bought the Mike Meyers book and I'm finding the sheer amount of material on these exams to be HUGE! I can see now why it's two exams. It doesn't look like difficult stuff, just a lot to remember and go over. I just got the book last week and I'm reading through the entire thing just to familiarize myself with the material, refresh my memory from stuff I haven't used in a long time, and see what my weak points are. After that I plan to watch the Professor Messer videos and take notes, then go over the objectives one by one.

What I'm trying to figure out is, do most people study for the 701/801 and concentrate on those objectives/material - and then move on to concentrating on the material for the 702/802? Or do people just kind of study ALL the objectives/material together?

I know there is a lot of overlap in the knowledge required for both exams, but obviously there are separate objectives for each exam. Just wondering if I should be trying to cram EVERYTHING into my head at once, or if I will miss out anything by specifically gearing my studies toward 701/801, THEN 702/802. Hope this makes sense.

2. nXPLOSi

nXPLOSi Terabyte Poster

I know exactly how your feeling, I was there once!

I studied towards both exams at the same time due to the big overlap of topics. I did the exams about 3 weeks apart and in that 3 weeks I just used some mock test software such as Transcender to make sure I was ready for the next test and nothing was missed. I re-read any bits I wasn't 100% on.