Do I still have a future in IT?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by ee01akk, Nov 24, 2008.

1. ee01akk

ee01akk Bit Poster

Ok I have been working on an IT helpdesk for about 6 months now, doing 1st and 2nd line support for backup/ recovery storage solutions, and I'm really not enjoying it.

I like the technical side to the job, but not the customer support side- certainly not over the phone or by email. A lot of the customers are rude, and I haven't had any training on a lot of the backup technologies, so I literally am learning on the job from the customer.:rolleyes:I prefer to be doing more hands on support work, or I would like to try a new field within IT- maybe networking or database design/ development. What would I need to study to get into these fields for a beginner?

I am currently working on my A+ cert at the moment, but I'm wondering where it will take me in this difficult economic climate.

I guess the real question I have is, if you don't like helpdesk, are you really suited to IT support?

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

I woudn't consider moving jobs at the moment if I were you. IT is hard enough to get into anyway and with the current economic climate and people loosing jobs left right and centre you'd be best to stay where you are.

Once thing start to improve ask a supervisor if you will get any other training and if not look for a job that will have it.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Unfortunately now a days alot of IT jobs not only rely on your hard skills (eg technical ability) but also on your soft skills (eg team working, customer service skills, etc). When things go wrong, you are going to get irate customers on the phone, lets face it people aren't going to call the helpdesk when things go right.