Discussion: Degree vs MCPs certs

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by Stuka, Feb 15, 2010.

1. Stuka

Stuka Nibble Poster

Hi all,

I had a heated discussion with a mate on Saturday night. We both went to uni together, both studied I.T (BSc Hons) and we both ended up with a 2:1 degree.

Now, he seems to think that me doing the Microsoft certs, when I already have a degree is a complete waste of time. He claims that the degree is far more advanced and holds more weight than any Microsoft Qualification, whether its the MCSA/MCSE or a billion MCPs!

He seems to think that because I want to make a career working with networks/servers, that I'm "under selling myself" - because we studied stuff like Databases, programming, web design, SQL etc at uni...he believes that server stuff is just for "support staff" and "doesn't make you much money".

This wound me up a little, because I'm now starting to wonder whether pursuing an MCP (rather, the MCDST) is worth it, since I have a degree. My mate's under the impression that MCPs are just for anyone without any experience with computing, a sort of "walk in" certification that does not concern any real background experience...

I'm certainly not put off by his opinions, as I personally think that he's talking rubbish. But its niggling at me a little bit...guys, what do you think?

Last edited: Feb 15, 2010
    Certifications: IT 2:1 Degree, A+, N+, MCDST
    WIP: MCITP
  2. DC Pr0Mo

DC Pr0Mo Kilobyte Poster

Personally speaking I don't think it would be a waste of time, If anything it will widen your knowledge of all things microsoft. His train of thought sounds like you go to uni, obtain degree, nothing more to learn, when in truth the learnng process is just begining.

Has your mate landed a job yet with his degree?

Certifications: MCDST | BSc Network Computing | 365 Fundamentals
  3. Stuka

Stuka Nibble Poster

The funny thing is, he hasn't had a steady job since he left uni!