Digital Forensic Analyst - How do I get there?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by dood, Jan 4, 2011.

1. dood

dood New Member

Ok I have a science degree and I am currently doing a admin/internet orders job. I am studying A+ and I really want to aim being a digital Forensic analyst.

Thing is should I not bother with all these security certs and do a masters in forensic computer (uni westminister) or is there a way I can work my way up through doing the certs. And in what order of certs do I do?
    What kind of entry level security jobs can i do? Or even volunteering in that sector? Cause if i do a masters I want to do it part-time (I suck at studying) and work somewhere relevant.

Also, what places am I likely to get this job? The met police? I am guessing trying at private agencies are much more difficult.

Thanks!

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Well from what I have seen Security jobs are even harder to get than networking jobs and no one walks into a networking job without any experience in networking or progressing from a support role.

As for forensic science I would think you should do the masters degree or try and get some sort of placement during a gap year.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Do you have any IT experience\qualifications just now mate?

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  4. LukeP

LukeP Gigabyte Poster

I too, am afraid that you will have to work your way up. Even with Masters I don't think there are any shortcuts.

WIP: Uhmm... not sure
  5. dood

dood New Member

Er not really. Judging from all your responses, I was going a bit over my head :oops:

What would be entry standard security jobs?