Did you have a trainer or are you self taught?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Gary D, Jun 17, 2004.

1. Gary D

Gary D New Member

Sorry if this has been discussed before :oops:

Your thoughts please: If you were taking the MCSA/E exams on your own did you wish you had gone with a training provider and if you went with a training provider; do you wish you hadn't and gone it alone instead?

All views welcome!

2. Phoenix
    Honorary Member

Phoenix 53656e696f7220 4d6f64

Um, I did my NT4 MCSE with a trainer, along with all of my Cisco certs (bar CCDA), the 2k MCSE, A+, Sec+, etc were all self taught.
    If I could afford to take every MCSE with an instructor i would, simply because of the length and depth of them, it gives u a bunch more opertunity and will power than slogging through 7 exams on your own!

with your experiance most other things should be doable by yourself, anything your REALLY new at i advise instructor led, but only by reputable instructors not the many cowbow operations that are around :)

Certifications: MCSE, MCITP, VCP
    WIP: > 0
  3. SimonV
    Honorary Member

SimonV Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I have gone with a training provider but purely because my employer has paid for my training. If I was to go it alone I would have definitely not have paid the price tag that was paid to my provider and would have without a doubt bought all the books myself and paid for the exams as and when I needed to.

If I had the money then I would have definitely chosen instructor lead training IMO nothing beats learning from an experienced other.

Certifications: MOS Master 2003, CompTIA A+, MCSA:M, MCSE
    WIP: Keeping CF Alive...
  4. Jakamoko
    Honorary Member

Jakamoko On the move again ...

I used a provider, simply for the reason I was brand new to IT, so wouldn't have had a clue where to begin (and this humble Forum was yet to be born :oops: )