Depressing Reality.. IT starter :(

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Ifailed, May 24, 2016.

1. Ifailed

Ifailed Bit Poster

I've been looking for a job on and off for past 4 months and reality is just too depressing.
    1st month - with bachelor degree in IT only. zero reply among 20 places I applied.
    2nd month - applied only 5 places. zero reply
    3rd month - got myself comptia A+, 2 replies among 16 places I applied. one place offered $13.25 per hour but with 4 years contract(wtf) and the other place offered $16 an hour but night shift(7pm to 4am).
    4th month - got myself network+. applied about 10 places few days ago, waiting..

This is really depressing. Sure, I have no experience in IT in big business environment but I've been working on sales and customer support for 10+ years and been building PCs for 10+ years. After all the time and money I spent to get 4 years degree in IT and A+, Network+, my reward is basically same or worse than working at fast food store? And the worst part of all is, I am not even getting reply from the company I applied for most of time. It's not like I was applying for big azz job but simple help desk job. Why is it so hard to get entry level job and pay is so low? I see all those requirement from the company and their required list is just too ridiculous for mere entry level job while the pay is a joke. Is it just me or is everyone who just started in field is going through this kind of crap?

2. Pseudonym

Pseudonym Kilobyte Poster

20 job applications really isn't many. 5 in a month is virtually nothing. Aim to apply for every single one you find within like 50 miles. Did you turn down 2 job offers? If you get offered something, just take it and work on finding something better.

3. Juelz

Juelz Gigabyte Poster

You are too fussy you had two potential job offers which you turned down, you cant be that desparate.

4. Ifailed

Ifailed Bit Poster