Degree help

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Theprof, Mar 26, 2009.

1. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Hello,

As many of you I recently started my career in IT. So far my job description is Desktop Support but I tend to do quite a bit of networking as well. One of my long term goals in IT would be to become something like a CIO or CTO. This will obviously take me a while to get to but I am very determined in my ways.

My question would be, what kind of an education is required for that? for example do I need to have a Degree in Business? a degree in Computer Networking? etc. I know that to be a CTO or a CIO requires a lot of work, the individual has to posses a lot business skills, ability to solve complicated problems, experience, contacts, etc. This is something that I am really interested. Currently I am doing a degree in Business Administration but I was wondering if completing a degree in Computer Networking would give the same opportunity?

This is something that is a long term goal but it's something that I am really intersted in. So your input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

That's one of my aims also, hopefully the route that I'm going down/planning is leading me that way :)

Of course I'm just generalising here, however from what I've seen here are some of the requirements:

1. A minimum of a bachelor's degree in a Business or IT/Computing related subject (MBA/Master's desirable).
    2. A minimum of 10 years experience in IT management (preferable in the same sector).
    3. Higher level Professional certifications (for example the CITP - would be the ISP in Canada, as I've come across recently).