Debian Install

Discussion in 'Linux / Unix Discussion' started by Rostros22, Nov 9, 2005.

1. Rostros22

Rostros22 Kilobyte Poster

Greetings all,

As I am a complete novice when it comes to linux I just wanted to ask you about installing Debian.

I have just downloaded an iso file and burnt it to cd and I am going to install it on a test machine that I have. The machine currently runs Windows 2000 and I just wanted some advice on how to go about it.

I presume the machine will become a dual boot machine but is there anything I should be aware of? I have dual booted many times before with multiple windows OS but will there be any major differences?

Thanks

Certifications: ITIL Certs, F.A.S.T Auditor Certs
    WIP: None - Application with Police
  2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

I think I'll let Freddy, our resident Debian expert guide you throught that process. My "adventures" in trying to get Debian to run in VMware can be found Here
    :oops:

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  3. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

Not too much to tell the truth. You do have make sure you have a place that Linux can use to install. I make sure I have an unformatted space that I can easily choose as Linux uses different disk descriptions and names than Windows does. If the space you want to install on is unformatted it's very easy to recognize.

Also, make sure you allow grub to be used as the boot loader and to install it in the MBR if you already have Windows installed. Other than that there really isn't much to watch out for. Linux plays pretty nicely with other OS's.

It takes about a 2+ gigs to do a full default desktop Debian install, but that includes all your software and two full gui's, Gnome and KDE.