CV Help!

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Rich0811, Sep 29, 2010.

1. Rich0811

Rich0811 Bit Poster

Hey,

Finally got round to writing a general CV. However it is my first attempt at writing one so im sure there are a lot of improvements to be made and things which shouldnt be included. (i dont have a lot to include in my CV due to only just coming out of education and having a part time job).

One question which i have been wondering is; whether or not i should include into the CV that i attended university from Sep 2009 - July 2010 for one year? (Reason for leaving was that i didnt enjoy the course and wanted to persue a career in IT)

It would be very appreciated if anyone can read over my first draft and maybe suggest ideas to how i can improve it and make it more professional. My hobbies section seems to be like a filler and not sure if it is relevant to include or not.

Any advice would be great.

Thanks,
    Rich

Attached Files:

WIP: A+
  2. Josiahb

Josiahb Gigabyte Poster

I'm going to work through from bottom to top for variety, hobbies sections are a horrendous evil blight on the world but with your lack of experience probably quite useful in this case. I'd drop any mention of website memberships however, and look at fleshing some of the details out. If hobbies and interests are going to help at all you need to give a potential employer some idea why they should care (and don't mention it if they shouldn't).

Move mention of your self study into the education section, thats where they'll expect to see any mention of qualifications after all.

You education and employment history are both incredibly thin but theres not a huge amount you can do to improve matters as far as the education is concerned. Employment wise, try and think about anything you've done as part of your job which will be of interest, everything from operating the tills to reorganising shelves can be turned in to useful CV material.