Customer service development

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by tysfoot, Jan 8, 2009.

1. tysfoot

tysfoot Byte Poster

Hi, im looking to get my first job in customer service or as a technical hepdesk advisor.

im studying for my A+ and want a job in the I.T/office field but i have no experience deaing with customer or on the phone

can anyone recommend any customer service training providers

I think ill only need about 20 hours study and i would like a certificate to show my fist employer that im competent enough to handle customers

Certifications: A+
    WIP: MCDST, N+
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

I've never heard of a class on customer service... not one that any employers would take notice of, anyway. Either you can deal with people on the phone with a pleasant demeanor or you can't... and you usually figure that out by getting on the phone in a real-life job situation.

In truth, it takes no experience... that's why those jobs are entry-level jobs: no experience required.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Customer Service courses only teach you the skills/concepts about customer service. Experience will teach you the rest, with that in mind check out:

1. Learndirect, they have quite a few Customer service short courses (as well as NVQ's in Customer Service) starting from £34.99 (currently). Or
    2. Check out your local college, alot of them will be offering Customer service course.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  4. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster