curious newbie..

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by dv-ant, Jan 6, 2010.

1. dv-ant

dv-ant Bit Poster

Hello, newbie here!

About to start studying for my MCDST and N+ and then pray I can get my foot on the first rung, hopefully of many, of the towering IT ladder

I understand and strongly believe that building up my work experience will be the most important part of all, experience is far more important than higher level certifications. Having higher level certifications without the experience to back it up has a strong negative affect on getting into the IT industry as it shows you are over qualified with no/little experience. I am sure plenty of managers look at CV's and think to themselves that this person is simply paper qualified as the qualifications simply dont match the experience

I have been looking around many training centers and it seems to me that a lot of them just want you to part with your money (I wont mention any names, but I am sure people here know what I mean) and try and sell their CCNA course as part of some training package, but unfortunately for them, and luckily for me, I am not that naive and so quick to part with my cash!

When I pose them with the question that aren't jobs that involve you installing/configuring actual Cisco equipment in a live environment entrusted to techs who have proven experience and not to entry level Cisco techs ? they just start regurgitating some nonsensical sales pitch

Although it is my long term career aspiration to get into the world of Cisco and networking I understand that it will be some time before I can reach that goal and am prepared to work hard, study hard and importantly be patient

My questions to the more experienced and knowledgeable amongst this forumn as follows;

1) What should I, or any other newbie, be looking for and expect as a typical job role for a MCDST and N+?