course & career advice

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by forumscert, May 8, 2008.

1. forumscert

forumscert New Member

Just found this forum recently. Was wondering a few things that you lot might have some answers to ?

I noticed that is quite convenient to do self study for some access level courses at home and eventually get certifications for these at local examination centres.

As I am currently working in a branch of industry which might not be able to provide employment in future I am looking for a plan B, which I can start in the background of my current full-time job. If it turns out that I can eventually get a better job/salary in future (after gaining a few certificates) then I could consider switching to IT completely, but for now I am just looking for something to cover for a situation where redundancy might happen (we might go into recession after all…).

I have basic computer knowledge (perhaps bit above the average) and I was thinking of starting to gain access to the IT job market by doing self study for MCDST level and then get certified for it.

Now the questions that I have for now are:

- Will having just this certification alone get you anywhere in terms of getting on the IT job market ?
    - Is this the right course to start with ?
    - What sort of salaries does this level have ? (rough range will do)
    - If I understand correctly the MCDST course at present mainly deals with windows XP,as that would be the software that most PCs are running on at the moment. Is this likely to change in the near future ? In other words: will it be wise to do this training now or are there changes on the horizon soon (for example: might Windows vista be the thing to know instead soon )?
    - Will this course expire and/or need refresher courses and new exams to be taken in order to keep it valid over a longer term ? If so, can you give me an idea of these terms (number of years ?)