Couple of CCNA Questions

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by JackC, May 26, 2007.

1. JackC

JackC New Member

Hi guys,

Im planning on teaching myself for CCNA this summer over a 4 month break from uni (longer if needed), I intend to get a home lab setup and take the all in one 640-801 exam.

Firstly i was wondering how far in advance I need to book the exam? Specifically how many opportunities a year are there to take it? Im in the UK if it makes a difference, using a Pearson VUE test centre. Do i have to register with Cisco as well, or is it just a case of registering to take the exam and they pass the info onto Cisco?

I have no Cisco experience yet, and am currently studying Computer Science, however I hold quite alot of knowledge with general home networking. So if I get hold of a lab will the books explain clearly how to set routers/switches up from a 'no cisco experience' point of view?

Book wise, I will be using: CCNA: Cisco Certified Network Associate Study Guide (640-801)

And I have various other sources on top of that.

For my home lab, Im looking at the following equipment:
    Code:
    Routers:

+ Cisco 2610 Ethernet Serial Router 64D/16F 
    + Cisco 2610 Ethernet Serial Router 64D/16F
    + Cisco 2610 Ethernet Serial Router 64D/16F with NM-4A/S Four Serial Frame-Relay Module

Switches:

+ 1 x Cisco 2924-XL Enterprise Switch running Cisco IOS
    + 1 x Cisco 2912-XL Enterprise Switch running Cisco IOS

Is the above likly to cover all my needs?

Thanks very much for any advice, much appreciated.

Jack

WIP: Bsc Computer Science
  2. Headache

Headache Gigabyte Poster

Welcome to CF.

If the book you're talking about is the one written by Richard Deal, then you've made a good choice, because that's the one I used and I'll recommend it 100%.