Copying large files over wireless network

Discussion in 'Wireless' started by darrenecm, Feb 20, 2006.

1. darrenecm

darrenecm Bit Poster

I'm having odd problems when it comes to copying a file that is a shade over 3Gb from my laptop to my desktop over my wireless network. The copying progress bar gets around half way and then copying fails. I've had one timeout error and the latest error was different and more baffling, saying complaining about the path being "too deep", even though the destination path was simply c:\Public. Also, after the error my once working connection to my laptop stops and I can no longer reconnect to any of its shared folders. I then have to disconnection from the network and reconnect to get back to normal.

I'm relatively new to networking though I did manage to get my Linksys WRT54GS happily connecting my desktop, laptop and even my O2 XDAIIs pocketpc phone without too many headaches and hair-pulling :)

I'm even having no problems sharing the Internet connection on my desktop with my other two devices. I also have no problems with copying less large files in general but it seems 3Gb is problematic.
    Is this a common problem with wireless networking? I'm about to visit the hardware store and make up an ethernet cable and connect my laptop by wire to see if that solves the problem but I'd rather not have any more wires about the place.

Anyone have any suggestions as to why this is happening?

Thanks

WIP: A+, N+
  2. Baba O'Riley

Baba O'Riley Gigabyte Poster

Hi Darren,

I regularly copy video files of 5GB+ over my Wi-Fi connection without trauma, so it's definitely possible.

How is the signal strength of your connection? Have you checked for interference from other nearby Wi-Fi connections? It might only be noticable with large files because of the length of time involved. I use a free program called NetStumbler for this, it tells you what channel any other networks in range are using.