Confused MCSE?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Luddym, Nov 3, 2008.

1. Luddym

Luddym Megabyte Poster

I received an E-Mail from Microsoft today to tell me I'm now a Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer. It threw me a little as I'm pretty sure I'm still the elective away from becoming MCSE, but looking at my Microsoft transcript it still shows me a an MCSE.

I took my MCSA using the A+ and N+ as electives, and the Microsoft Exams I have taken are:

70-270
    70-290
    70-291
    70-293
    70-294
    70-297

By my reckoning, I'm still an elective away from my MCSE as the A+ and N+ count towards the MCSA but not the MCSE.

Can anyone see where my reasoning is going wrong?

Edit : I tried looking at the Cert planner on the MCP site to see if that would shed any lights on it, but the planner would only show the path for 'certs I don't have'.

Certifications: VCP,A+, N+, MCSA, MCSE
    WIP: Christmas Drunkard
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

does the MCSA itself not count as an elective?

3. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

You're still better off getting the information from the horses mouth in my opinion. To be honest there might have just been a mix up. But hey, just check and best wishes:)

Certifications: MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003 Messaging, MCP, HNC BIT, ITIL Fdn V3, SDI Fdn, VCP 4 & VCP 5
    WIP: MCTS:70-236, PowerShell
  4. Luddym

Luddym Megabyte Poster

I think it's only the 2000 MCSA but not the MCSA 2003 that counts towards the MCSE 2003

5. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

6. Obinna Osobalu

Obinna Osobalu Banned

Actually you have already taking the 4 core networking exams(290, 291, 293, 294) one client(270) and one core design(297) so it seems like you are short one exam which is one elective... below is the list of elective exams
    Exam 70-086
    Exam 70-089
    Exam 70-227
    Exam 70-228
    Exam 70-229
    Exam 70-235
    Exam 70-236
    Exam 70-262