Computeach = Help ?????????

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by adamoliver, Mar 11, 2007.

1. adamoliver

adamoliver New Member

I have been doing some research on various sites after having a computeach salesman around to see me this Friday (09/03/07). In his mind I am best suited to database related courses, then after much spiel on this subject and the benefits etc I was told the cost, nice and cheap it was to not!!
    £5250
    which would be for one years studying to get compTIA A+, MCP, MCDBA, MCSA and MCSE. I use computers alot and have even built two with my brother, however i have to say my knowledge on IT is not vast.
    I have read alot of commments on this forum related to similar situtaions as my own. Is there anyone who has studied with Computeach that can give me there opinion? Further anyone who has advice to give on how to proceed with this matter?

My background is retail manager, no IT job experience

Adam

Certifications: none
    WIP: none
  2. Raffaz

Raffaz Kebab Lover Gold Member

Probably better to go the self study route. Start with A+ to make sure its the way you wanna go. Heres a guide to self study that might help ya.
    http://www.certforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11831

Certifications: A+, MCP, MCDST, AutoCAD
    WIP: Rennovating my house
  3. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

That'll be tough to do in a year...

What makes him sense that 'database type' courses will be best for you? Spidey-sense?

And if so, why has he suggested that you just do all the certs? Just in case?

Sorry - load of nonsense.

If it's databases you want, then OK, MCDBA perhaps.

MCP - tosh, you get that on your way to an MCDBA.
    MCSA - likewise, play your cards right and you get it on the way to an MCSE.

Sounds like he's only got one course which includes everything and justifies the top whack price.

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  4. Gaz 45

Gaz 45 Kilobyte Poster