CIW: advice needed!

Discussion in 'CIW Certifications' started by Hannah Jo, Sep 11, 2008.

1. Hannah Jo

Hannah Jo New Member

Helo hello

I am new to this forum and have signed up in the hope someone can offer me some quick advice about CIW website design.

I had a sales rep come round yday from skills train who obviously is a sales rep selling! Anyway this is the course SHE recommended to me. I haven't actually got any details yet, just the price plans.

Basically I wanted to know:

• if this course is viable
      whether i can get a job at the end of it, and how hard this may be
      whether i will be able to design websites at the end of it
      What the actual pay is likely to be
      if CIW is a recognised cert
      If 10 hours a week to complete in 12 months is realistic
      how hard the course is
      whether i can pass if i have no idea about website design!

I have a degree in performing arts and am halfway through my second degree in counselling. This course sounds interesting and would be good if i can work part time hours to fit around counselling, family (in the future!) etc. However it is not worth the cost and effort whilst working full time if none of the things i have been told are realistic.

I have been told that my female and age (24) status helps me get a job in website design becuase this is what they are looking for.

Please advise anyone doing the course, reserched the course or it bods/ professionals!

Thank you:rolleyes:

2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Welcome to the forums!