Cisco Network Academy - Opinions

Discussion in 'Routing & Switching' started by ScoobyDoo, Sep 4, 2004.

1. ScoobyDoo

ScoobyDoo Byte Poster

Hi,

I would like to start a new thread to gather opinions on what people think about the Networking Academy Program.

I recently completed all 4 semesters - but only passed my CCNA because I studied - & I mean studied - the Sybex/Lammle CCNA book (Delux Edn).

I felt the academy materials didn't have much focus (some chapter tests tested trivia) & some parts were poorly written. (I defy anyone to subnet in their head after reading the academy lesson.)

Due to time restrictions at college, we concentrated on the Simulator labs - although we did some practicals. Again, the number of these meant the course was not focussed on the exam objectives. Many of the sims were very repetitive & did not home in on the chapter being read.

I would think it would be very difficult for anyone to go straight from this to the CCNA exam without more directed study.

Your opinions please.

Certifications: <<See Below>>
  2. punkboy101
    Honorary Member

punkboy101 Back from the wilderness

Hi Scooby Doo

I almost have to disagree with you on this one. I thought the net academy was a great idea, and although some of the chapters and semesters did lack a little bit content wise, overall I was impressed, and managed to pass with the minimum of external study. I would recomend it to anyone.

Your point about there not being enuff practical in the course is more down to were you took it, than the Academy program itself. Were i took in MK, we spent about 50 percent of our time working on actual switches and routers, so that it would become second nature to us.