Certs

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Theprof, Aug 29, 2011.

1. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

How many of you guys study for more than one certification at the same time? I find that it can get pretty boring only studying for one cert... I tend to study for two at a time, for example, right now I am studying for VCP4 and CCENT.

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

One at a time for me, but really I prefer to just learn stuff without certs most of the time...

Recent stuff I've been messing with is CUDA, Silverlight, Kerberos/JAAS/GSSAPI/SPNEGO, WCF, Guice, Google Collections, Jersey / JAX-RS, Hibernate, Hibernate-Search/Lucene, C# 4.0, MySQL, Jenkins.

The only one I have a cert on is WCF and thats on an older version...

Last edited: Aug 29, 2011
  3. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Cool, I find personally for me, I need variety, I get bored always reading the same book and and learning the same subject... What I usually do is split up the studies for different times, in the mornings/lunch I'll do one cert at night I'll do the other. Hasn't failed me yet though.

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
  4. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Yeah but if you just learn what you need to for work or what interests you, then its not an issue, then you don't get bored.

There is no need to be on a cert bandwagon, seems a very narrow minded way to look at the world.

5. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator