Certs to Backup my Experience.

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by AMH, Jan 5, 2015.

1. AMH

AMH New Member

Hi,
    As I have said in my new members thread, I have 20 years of work experience in IT Sector.
    Figuring I only got 25 years left to work (or less if I can retire in my 50s!), I better start these twilight years by knuckling down & actually doing some hard work.

Currently I am a self employed contractor and struggling to find opportunities for the next leg up.
    Fed up of being an employee where the employer offers you the earth & gives you nothing. I have had 3 different employers that promise certification & career development yet none invested any money in me. Luckily with my Can Do attitude I do have a broad range of experience, but I have kinda hit the buffers & know I need Certs to get back on track.

My current role is in end user support, with a bit of account administration, AD work, etc.
    The logical step from here would be to move 100% hiding behind the monitor screen as a sys admin.
    Kinda skills that get asked for in my neck of the woods are:-
    • Window/Wintel Servers.
    • Exchange.
    • Active Directory.
    • VMware/Virtualisation Products.
    • Citrix XenApp etc.
    • Disaster Recovery
    • Anti-Virus McAfee
    • Design Experience.
    • There is also quite a few Cisco roles that pop up from time to time, but they are so infrequent, I don't fancy dropping a load of money on training & then sitting & waiting for the right role to come up. I have Cisco experience, just enough to get others out a hole if something goes bad & they can't connect remotely.
    Basically, Infrastructure, Virtualisation & Networking.

Which I am out of the loop for quite a lot of them. Seems the bigger the organisation you work for, the further away you are pushed from being in the loop! Because of that, a lot of my skillset can also be classed as redundant.