Certification paths

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by dstorey, Jul 6, 2014.

1. dstorey

dstorey Bit Poster

A little background information for you first.

I am a IT support Trainee. I have a limited background in professional it roles, in fact, I would say I was more of an administrator in my previous roles.

I started this job around 3 months ago, in order to break into the industry I enjoy the most.

With this job role comes a standard low wage salary, but makes up for it dramatically, with offering me any IT related course/certification I would like to pursue. Beginning with the MCSA 70-680 and 70-685 as it is more business critical and role critical for me.

I am due to take the first course over 4 days with the company QA, which I have never used 2 weeks from now. And the second in August over 3 days.

Upon completion and hopefully passing these courses, I am to decide which direction I would like to go in from there. The trouble is, I have no idea. I love the idea of networking and as a career path I could certainly choose worse.

I don't know which is the more valuable in terms of career/salary in the future. I would be lying if I wasn't looking at getting as much money as possible from my career as well as enjoying it.

I have read that cisco is the best route to go down. But would like a more novice course to begin with, in networking. It would be a course I would take along side the certification and I would like any other 'interactive' learning materials available. If there are any that wont cost an arm and a leg.

Thanks for any info and advice in advance.

Darren

2. dstorey

dstorey Bit Poster

To clarify my point, as that was more of a statement.

I am eagerly looking for any and all guidance or the roles to go down.

There are a couple of infrastructure engineers at my place and I love what they do, although have 0 understanding of how they do it.