Certification path advice

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by CJWelch89, Jan 30, 2014.

1. CJWelch89

CJWelch89 Bit Poster

First off, hello all! I've been lurking about these forums for a fair while now and they have proved to be an invaluable asset to my self development so thank you all for allowing that to happen, truly, this is one of if not the best online IT community's I have come across.

After leaving the army late last year I'm in the process of transitioning to 'civvi street' and have decided that IT is definitely the right route for me. I've no hands on experience but I am a massive IT enthusiast and find all of it extremely interesting. For a few months now I have been self studying towards the A+ and for a month now I've been attending what is essentially a resettlement college for ex-army to help cut my learning curve. Tomorrow I finish the course and I know I'm ready for the exam since I'm consistently scoring high 800's using the Boson ExSim software, which is excellent by the way and anyone looking for practice exam software shouldn't hesitate to invest.

Anyway, the college is offering a course that starts a week or so from now which upon completion would enable me to pass the N+ and S+, it's a month long and I know it's all excellent instructor led lab work, hands on etc... The thing is a they're also offering a course which runs at the same time offering tuition to gain the MCSA which consists of the 70-640 MCTS, 70-642 MCTS and the 70-646 MCTS.

Now the question is which one do I go for? I have a keen interest in networking and security but also realize the value of having the MCSA. I just can't decide which to go for.

God I waffle a lot.

TLDR:

About to pass A+
    Should I go for Network+ and Security+ next or MCSA: Server Administrator?

Last edited: Jan 30, 2014
    Certifications: Network+, A+, ITQ 2
    WIP: Security+, Server+
  2. Rob1234

Rob1234 Megabyte Poster Forum Leader