CCNP self-study

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by geezer, Oct 12, 2007.

1. geezer

geezer New Member

Hi

Not long on this forum, today actually! Well I just want to know if anyone has managed to 'self-study' their way to CCNP as I did with CCNA via the 'Lammle' book.

I have some experience of networking and have a small home network (1600,1700, 2600 and 1900s) to practice with but want to know what books/lab is needed for the latest exams.

TIA.

Certifications: CCNA
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

I self-studied for the CCNP using Cisco Press, Sybex, documentation on Cisco.com, and real-world experience.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. Arroryn

Arroryn we're all dooooooomed Moderator

No you didn't, you liar.

You used an imbalance in the force, and an addiction to caffeine.

In all seriousness, Geezer, it depends on how you prefer to study, and what experience you have.

I see you mentioned in your welcome thread you already have good experience in IT/with comms - do you have Cisco gear at your workplace/as your main focus? If so, that'll put you on good ground for the CCNP anyway.

If you prefer the hands-on element, get yourself a nice lab together and beat it to death with an egg-whisk. Book-wise, I don't suppose you can go (too far) wrong with the CCNP recommended material. Aside from that, as I am only on CCNA myself, I'd be guessing.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, 70-410, 70-411
    WIP: Modern Languages BA
  4. BosonMichael

Young Padawan... it is Force, with a capital F... 8)

...what do you think caffeine is made from? THAT'S why there's an imbalance in the Force... I'M CONSUMING IT! :eek: :biggrin