CCNA on my own

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by Tim131, Jan 16, 2011.

1. Tim131

Tim131 Bit Poster

Hi all,

I'm wanting to get my CCNA and am just wondering if youse can give me a bit of information about it. Like what is the best way to study, is it possible on your own, how long would it take? I'm in a part time job just now, so have a fair bit of spare time in which I can study.

How much do exams cost? and generally how much did people study a day/week and how long before they took the exam?

Many thanks,

Tim

2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Do you have any IT experience mate?

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. Tim131

Tim131 Bit Poster

Yeah bud, I've done my A+ (not IT Technican, so dont actually have the cert, but passed essentials) I did a HNC in computer maintenance, where I studied for my A+, studied some of the Network+ material, but am not certified.

I work in PC World just now yeah **** job, but I'm at the forefront of technology I guess, I've always been quite techy, did the first year of a BSc course in Computing Science, but didnt like the programming, so didn't continue with it.

I just read like a 200 slide presentation on someone of the stuff you need to know, looks really interesting, and can't wait to study it, I'm just wondering if there is any software like labsim available for CCNA, I'm going to look on youtube for videos etc.

But I reckon if I study a few hours a day, I should be able to get there, I just dont know the extent of the course, how deep it goes as such, so don't know if it would take weeks or months to complete.

Cheers,

Tim

4. Sparky

Nice one mate. Have you thought about doing some other certs as well?