CCNA LAB

Discussion in 'Design' started by B1n0ry, Apr 3, 2007.

1. B1n0ry

B1n0ry Bit Poster

Hi all, I'm currently studying CCNA and I'm using the Boson Sim, thats all very good and all, but what I really need to know is what would be the best basic CCNA lab to start with?. I'm curently thinking of purchasing the following setup and would like some feedback if this would be sufficient.

2620 router(x2),
    2611 router
    2924 switch
    2912 switch
    2 x serial DB60-DB60 crossover cables
    4 x cat 5E straight-through cables
    4 x cat 5E crossover cables
    2 x RJ45 / DB9 console cables
    I originally started studying last year but other commitments left me little time, so now I'm ready to begin again and would like any help in regards setting up a home lab and any new study items to look for, i.e will there be questions on ISDN or wireless etc (.. a year is a long time in IT things change :confused3)

regards in advance
    B1n0ry

WIP: CCNA
  2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Hi,

There are a few members who are studying for CCNA at the moment who are in a better position to advise you on what you need and the place to buy them from.

Perhaps we could have some responses so other members (like myself) know where to go for the future.

Si

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  3. B1n0ry

B1n0ry Bit Poster

... thanks for reply.... I'll keep a lookout in the forums :eek:.. I only intended to be on here for 10 mins.... that was 2hrs ago :biggrin. some interesting things in here!

4. Headache

Headache Gigabyte Poster

You'll probably be needing a few more db60s. Can't have too many of those. Dunno if you'll be needing that many crossover cables though. Otherwise the lab looks okay.

Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  5. r.h.lee

r.h.lee Gigabyte Poster

B1n0ry,

Question:
    1. Are you planning to take the 2 exam (640-821 INTRO & 640-811 ICND) or 1 exam (640-801 CCNA) route (pun intended)?