CCDE and Cisco certs in general...

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by delorean, Feb 2, 2008.

1. delorean

delorean Megabyte Poster

I'm completely new to the Cisco world and while I begin my studies from the bottom up, with an MCSE and CCNA being my future goals, I took a quick scour over the Cisco site at their certification requirements.

The whole 'valid for three years' thing I find is pretty ludicrous. For example, say you were to go for a CCIE or CCDE. After 8 excruciating hours doing your pt2 lab to get certified you pass, hooray! Then in three years all that hard work, and above all the expense of doing those particular exams hardly seems to me to make perfect sense.

Do Cisco regularly change their exam objectives? Is this why certification is valid only for three years?

I can understand in a way that, for example, you earn a CCNA and have the desire/intention of moving up the Cisco certification ladder, the three year validation would persuade candidates to continue learning to acheive the next cert. Other than that though, to me anyway, the CCDE et al seems like a bit of an extravagance considering the time and expense required to acheive it.

Certifications: A+, MCP 70-270, 70-290, 70-291
    WIP: 70-680, S+, MCSA, MCSE, CCNA
  2. zebulebu

zebulebu Terabyte Poster

That's a valid point, and certainly worth considering. Personally, i would think that if you get to the level of CCIE/CCDE then you would have enough knowledge, skills and experience not to really worry about recertifying every three years. I'm doing my CCNA & CCNP this year (well at least I plan to anyway!) but only because my employer wants me to - otherwise I wouldn't bother with it. Their certification programme seems like a rip-off to me and always has.

Certifications: A few
    WIP: None - f*** 'em
  3. delorean

delorean Megabyte Poster

That's the impression I get too.