Career in IT need advise

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Dr_H, Apr 30, 2011.

1. Dr_H

Dr_H New Member

Hi to all.

I used to be a recruiter for IT professional in design and development. I have always had a keen interest in computers and am very logical/solution focused.

I have been considering for some time now, taking a course to study the MCPD. I have searched a couple of training providers but of course I am wary of getting stripped up. I have an understanding of the technologies used and the market place in which they operate and have a keen interest in web design and development.

Can anyone suggest a Training provider I can get in contact with? or is anyone willing to offer there expert knowledge in return.

I really have no technical ability and would be starting from scratch but I'm a fast learner.

hopefully your help will lead to me starting a career in recruitment.

Certifications: none
    WIP: MCPD
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Does being cabin crew make you a pilot ? Does working at a Hertz booking desk make you a mechanic ?

Having been an IT recruiter gives you zero insight into software development or the technologies used. You require DEEP insight into many subjects, not just vague knowledge of a few buzzwords.

No I would not reccomend any TP I know of to learn MCPD material, I'd reccomend a foundation degree in Computer Science from a reputable college, then experience and self study.

For someone with little knowledge/experience you are realistically talking a few years before MCPD, not weeks or months.

If you have a keen interest in development, have you learnt any languages or written any programs ?

You mention you have 'no technical ability', generally people begin as hobbyists, they learn a lot of technical stuff just out of interest before they begin development. Do you know what command shell, file system, CPU, memory, binary arithmetic, etc are ?