Career Help

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by yaz2012, Mar 17, 2013.

1. yaz2012

yaz2012 New Member

Hello Everyone,

I need a bit of advice. I have been working in a sales call centre environment for over 6 years. I have now decided that I should do something which I like. I am very tech focused and want to get into the IT industry. I have been fixing family and friends computer issues for many years.

My friends have suggested to do CCNA on self study and than start with very basic IT jobs.

However on this forum, most people say that the best thing is do is to start with ComptiA.

So i know a fair bit of knowledge on computers.

What do you suggest would be the best thing.

Would i be able to get a job after CCNA? I live in london.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you.

Yaz.

2. Coupe2T

Coupe2T Megabyte Poster

Personally I would still suggest starting on the Comptia route, having said that there is nothing stopping you getting an entry level job now, without certifications.

Once you have a year or two experience then I would say the Comptia are less required and you could start with CCNA.

Most entry level IT jobs such as first line helpdesk etc are heavily customer service focused, as opposed to tech focused, so there is no reason you can't start applying now, although obviously every job market is a little tougher than normal right now.

Just make sure you make a point of your soft skills and customer service experience as well as your IT knowledge and abilities.

Certifications: ECDL, Does that Count!?!
    BraderzTheDog likes this.
  3. BraderzTheDog

BraderzTheDog Kilobyte Poster

Find the area in IT which you like first of all, just because your friends suggest networking (CCNA) doesn't mean you will like this area of IT.

You say you have a fair bit of knowledge when it comes to computers, do you mean by this clients? End user work stations?