Can you skip A+ and go straight to Microsoft certs?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Sonicimage, Jun 3, 2013.

1. Sonicimage

Sonicimage Bit Poster

Hi, guys. Please, I need some advice. I've been studying towards A+ 700 series for several months now, and was planning to sit the exams in June. But because of the current financial problems I'm not able to fund these exams, which expire at the end of August. I also signed up earlier with one company for MCITP and have video training material. I heard that it's not necessary to be A+ certified in order to study for Microsoft exams. Is that true, or A+ is a prerequisite? If I have good knowledge of A+ material, but won't have the actual cert, can I just study for MCITP/MCSA and do these exams?
    Any advice would be appreciated!

Certifications: Bachelor of Art; City & Guilds Diploma in ICT Systems Level 2 & 3; MCTS: Active Directory; MCTS: Network Infrastructure; MCTS: Windows 7, Configuring; MCSA: Server 2008; CCENT; CCNA; MCSE: Server 2012
    WIP: MCSE: Server Infrastructure
  2. reverb

reverb Byte Poster

No A+ is not a prerequisite. Microsoft certs are usually aimed at people who have at least a years commercial experience. Having said that, I skipped A+ and done MCDST (now replaced by MCITP I think) with a few months experience under my belt. I suppose it depends how well you already know Windows 7 before you should even consider doing MCITP.

Last edited: Jun 3, 2013
  3. Hilazing

Hilazing Bit Poster

Like you, I studied the A+ material, but never took the exams I now have the 70-680 cert, with no previous qualifications, and no actual experience (aside from my home lab setup).

MS certs are pretty difficult with no practical experience, so the A+ might be useful to get an entry level job, then study the MS certs while working with windows all day.

Certifications: MCTS 70-680
  4. r08zy

r08zy New Member