can u help

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by itnewby, Jan 9, 2008.

1. itnewby

itnewby Bit Poster

hi i am a IT newbie i am at present taking a NVQ level 3 advanced dip for IT professionals .and they are already asking what courses we are thinking about for next year .i am a mature student and dont really want to spend the next 2 years wasting my and the tutors time .i am looking for quals that will stand me in good stead for when we go to canada in 3 to 4 yrs time .Can anybody give me a pointor as at collage i feel like they are selling me something i dont need.And can i get a IT job with this qualification .i seam to be doing this course but not knowing where it will take me .thanks ps is a ccna any good.

WIP: nvq l3ictss
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome :)

If I were you I would look at compTIA A+ certification if becoming an IT tech is your goal, you do not need to do this at a college you could do it by self study.

http://certification.comptia.org/a/

The books most recommended to get for this are: compTIA A+ all in one exam guide by Mike Meyers 6th edition and PC Technician Street Smarts by James Pyles.

Once you are confident with the material you book your exams through http://www.prometric.com/default.htm or http://www.pearsonvue.co.uk/home/ you will find out on these sites which test centre is nearest you.

As for jobs and IT no IT qualification or cert can garantee you a job but they can make you stand out to an employer.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi,