Can I use VMWare or Virtual PC for this...?

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by RickUK, Jun 17, 2008.

1. RickUK

RickUK Nibble Poster

Hello

I would like to practise installing WinXP using either of the above programs, both of which I have downloaded for free (I have VMWare Player).

Could somebody kindly tell me how to do it? I am studying for 70-271 and I have the MS Press book.

Regards
    Rick

WIP: 70-271
  2. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

I don't think you will get very far with VMWare player, as it's only (as far as I remember) able to play (run) virtual machines that have already been created by other VMWare products. VMWare Server is free to download though.

VirtualPC will fit the bill nicely, it's probably the simplest to use of the different virtualisation programs I have come across. As ever, google is your friend. I found this guide to using Virtual PC a few links down after doing a simple search ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LZwXCQ71to&feature=related

In that guide they use VirtualPC to install Ubuntu, but essentially it would be the same if you were installing XP, just have an XP disc in your drive instead of Ubunutu.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCP, MCDST, MCSA 2K3, MCTS, MOS, MTA, MCT, MCITP:EDST7, MCSA W7, Citrix CCA, ITIL Foundation
    WIP: Nada
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

I use virtual PC but I don't think using Vmware (not vmware player) will be any different if you want to use that.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  4. RickUK

RickUK Nibble Poster

Super. Thanks very much. I don't know if you saw that video but the narrator's got a fantastically nerdy voice!

I notice that you have the ECDL - amongst many other qualifications. I don't have any IT qualifications (although a couple of years of helpdesk experience) at the moment; would it be worth my while taking it?

Regards
    Rick

5. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award