Can I copy a DVD and remove region?

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by Japanese Elvis, Mar 22, 2006.

1. Japanese Elvis

Japanese Elvis Nibble Poster

I'm new to the whole DVD writer thing and have a query...

I have family in the USA and would like to send them DVD's of some TV shows aired here - stuff that just isn't distributed in the USA.

I've tried discussing hacking their DVD player but I'm afraid they're techonphobes and it just isn't happening.

Now, I don't want to get into the in's and out's of piracy - that's not really what I'm about - I just want to know if I can use the PC to make a region free copy of a DVD???

Any ideas?

Certifications: A+, Network+, MCSA Server 2003
    WIP: Get a job?
  2. Baba O'Riley

Baba O'Riley Gigabyte Poster

I'm not sure if DVDs made with PCs are not already region free. All DVD writers are region free for the first x number of uses so they must write region free discs as well.

Does it have to be a proper DVD rather than an mpeg video file that would not cause these problems?

Certifications: A+, Network+
    WIP: 70-270
  3. Luddym

Luddym Megabyte Poster

I'm with Baba on this one.

As far as I know, any DVD you actually create yourself, is automatically region free.

The problem with Region coding comes when you back up DVD's that are shop bought.

If you are going to back up a DVD that is shop bought, or have bought a foreign DVD Disk that you want to play on your home DVD player that only supports Region 2, then something called DVD shrink helps.

I bought a lot of Asian Region 3 disks a while back, but the DVD player connected to my TV is Region 2 only, and unhackable, so I backed up the DVD's using DVD shrink. DVD shrink Rips out the Region coding, and makes the disk playable in any DVD player in any country. As a happy by product, it can also reduce the size of DVD-9s to DVD5. So you can fit a film that was originally 7gig, onto a 4.7 gig disk.