Can a company stop me working for another company

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by TechTock, Nov 8, 2013.

1. TechTock

TechTock Byte Poster

I was made redundant from my job (streamlining so no issue with me). I'm a 2nd/3rd line professional and have been offered to be put forward for a job for a company I did contracting for before I worked for the company I got the bullet from. Whilst working there we started to do work for the company I used to contract for (though I had no contact with them).

Issue is when I signed my redundancy letter it said I can't work for any company they had dealings with for 6 months. Can they enforce this and potentially sue me. Again the redundancy was just one of those things that happened and I have no bad feelings towards the company I lost my job with. Slightly worried as it's a great opportunity and hampers my ability to get a full time job.

Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP | MCDST | MCTS: Hyper-V | MCTS: AD | MCTS: Exchange 2007 | MCTS: Windows 7 | MCSA: 2003 | ITIL Foundation v3 | CCA: Xenapp 5.0 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician | PRINCE2 Foundation | VCP5
    WIP: Having a rest :-)
  2. RichyV

RichyV Megabyte Poster

Potentially, yes they can. But they'd have to provide some proof that, in taking the new job, you'd be engaged in something that inherently endangers their income (such as poaching clients or stealing secrets).

You would certainly want to mention it to the prospective new employer though, as they'd need to know for legal reasons.

Certifications: B.Sc.(Hons), MBCS. MCP (271,272), MCDST, MCTS (680), MCITP:EDST7, MCSA:WIN7, MCPS, MCNPS
    WIP: 70-686, then onto MCSE: Desktop Infrastructure via MCSA: Server 2012...
  3. Makaveli

Makaveli Byte Poster