Best starter Certifications for IT Newbies

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by simonkn, Aug 20, 2009.

1. simonkn

simonkn Bit Poster

Hi everyone.

Been in and out of the IT game for a few years - i'm an Aviation Security instructor for an airline at present! Previous IT experience is: PC/Network support technician in a school (1995) IT/Electronics Engineer (hardware)(1998) and at present i support the training department with IT issues. (sort of desktop support/networking-MSServer 2003/XPPro)

Ok, I'm looking to get certified to make the transition into IT completely. I've got one last career change in me as i'm 35 (so over the hill and far away) but in my defence I can play a mean game of Dungeons & Dragons and know most episodes of Red Dwarf off by heart!

Ok, joking aside, and the reason for the post....

I'm old and earn a decent wage but am realistic about potential entry salaries. SO, should I be looking to start off with compTIA A+ and Network+ and build up to an MCSA/MCSE or (taking Kevicho's excellent post into account!) plump straight for the MCSA/MCSE? As i'm touting myself with limited practical experience, what looks better on my CV?

Ive got 3 pc's and a mac at home that I can/do network (+vmware) and have access at work to Server 2003 for playing. So thats the hardware sorted - Therefore i'm thinking it's best to buy the books and go it alone?

Just which way shall I head?? before i part with £300 with Amazon. (grin)

Thoughts appreciated,
    Regards

SK

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

If your last IT post was about 11 years ago ( 1998 ), and only dabbling now. I doubt that at the minute you're designing and implementing AD & networks, accross multiple sites and domains. I would say go the A+, Network+, MCDST route, then the MCSA.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+