beginner

Discussion in 'Scripting & Programming' started by Mof, May 15, 2008.

1. Mof

Mof Megabyte Poster

Hi all when i first come to this site it was to get advice on books to teach me about my pc so i could go on to more advance stuff like programming, i have visual studio but no idear what to do with it so it collects dust.now im half way through mike meyers a+ i would like some advice on programming ie where to start which books would be good for an absolute beginner.

I know some of you are going to say finish the a+ book first, but i dont want to, i will finish it . programming has always intrested me but i never got round to doing any thing about it. no its not about the money its about the challange. so over to you now, i want to self train with books.

Cheers Martin
    PS i hope i hav'nt posted in the wrong place again:oops:

WIP: C++ and A+
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Myself and a lot of my friends learnt C from this book :-

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Learning-Program-C-BP-S/dp/0859342034

Its a pretty small non imtimidating book, I quite like the Babani books for hobbyists.

3. Mof

Mof Megabyte Poster

At £2.49 il defenatley have a look, will i need differant software for "c".
    also is it like stepping stone up to .net or am i being stupid.

4. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

C is a programming language, so yes you will need C to be able to programme in C.

I studied C++ at uni which is really and higher version of C.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  5. dmarsh

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Depends if you just wanna dip your toe in the water or if you wanna go staight for C#.

You can get Visual Studio Express C++, works fine for C also.

Otherwise look at the Head First C# book and Visual Studio C# Express, I mentioned it in another thread.