basic security certs

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by adrian, May 21, 2010.

1. adrian

adrian Nibble Poster

hello. to cut a very long story short, I have been given a budget for further training by the government to help me get a permanent job. I have no professional IT experience but i know about as much as I can without it if you know what I mean.

I have completed the CompTia A+, N+ and the microsoft 70-270 XP administration.

I dont want to over qualify but at the same time I cant think of any more entry level certs :P I have searched and searched and found the CCENT but frankly if those other certs didnt help me get a job (tried for over a year) ten I doubt any more will so I think ill just go for something that im interested in.

I am VERY interested in security and networking/hardware/infrastructure etc etc and I want to learn more about security so I looked for basic security certs...i found these

EC council security 5
    http://www.eccouncil.org/training/course_outline/security5_course_outline.aspx

checkpoint ccspa
    http://www.checkpoint.com/services/education/training/courses/principles_network_security.html

CompTia security+
    http://www.ptr.co.uk/comptia-security.htm

The Security 5 course sounds a bit TOO basic frankly, the security+ looks great but im a bit weary of it, like I say i will be studying purely for my own interest but I dont want to get something that I have to leave off my CV so would a security+ cert look like over qualifying?

CCSPA looks like a good compromise but i want sure, cant get too much info on it.

What do you lot all think?

Certifications: A+ N+
  2. supernova

supernova Gigabyte Poster

Before i can answer, whats your background have you worked in IT and to what level?

Also how old are you?

I am curious to why you went for the 70-270 and not a MCDST? .. as the later would seem more logical with the A+ and N+ when applying for jobs.

Last edited: May 21, 2010
    Certifications: Loads