Asterix - VOIP software

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by ManicMonkey, Oct 5, 2007.

1. ManicMonkey

ManicMonkey Kilobyte Poster

Anyone had any dealings with this?

Im looking at upgrading my works ancient phone system ( its a customer help desk environment) and was just wondering if anyone has any experience or knowledge of this?

Ive had a look at the website and wandered through the forums (a little) just wanted to see if anyone has CF experience ;)

Certifications: MCSE
    WIP: Exchange, Share point - MOM as well
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I've no personal experience of it - but it seems to be the main choice if you want to 'roll-your-own'.

There are even some books published now on running it!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. ajs1976

ajs1976 Byte Poster

We are looking into a system that is based off of Asterix and it is set it up for one client so far. Another group we work with sells it to their clients and like it.

Certifications: MCSE, CCEA, Sec+, L+, N+
    WIP: 2008, CAG, or CCENT (not sure)
  4. ManicMonkey

ManicMonkey Kilobyte Poster

Are you going to be installing configuring and supporting it?
    Or are you looking at getting it installed for you

Certifications: MCSE
    WIP: Exchange, Share point - MOM as well
  5. no1youknowz

no1youknowz Bit Poster

I've installed it to the tune of over 40 endpoints, 30 hard and 10 soft. The implementation was full VOIP, a 2MB sync 1:1 contented connection, with compression allowed for 30 concurrent calls. The call quality was very good.

I used Asterisk 1.2 and Freepbx 2.2.3 (although there is a newer ver now)

The hardphones were Snom 320's and the soft were the SJ Phone.

30 end points were for normal office staff, whereas the 10 softphones were for a CS based environment. The CS operators used USB headsets from plantronics.