ASP Question/s from a Newbie

Discussion in 'Web Development & Web Hosting' started by rwilmot, Feb 5, 2007.

1. rwilmot

rwilmot Nibble Poster

Hey guys,

I have a problem. I have been given the joyous task of designing a kind of portfolio system for my boss. I have a whole list of things that I need to do and am viewing various tutorials but i dont know what i need in terms of ASP coding! I'd say im a complete novice but am a keen learner!

here are a few things i need to do:

1. you start from one page, enter login details, if login is correct then open a new window without toolbars or ANY program buttons at all.

2. Restrict the site so that it can only be used in IE5+.

3. Have different logins for different locations.

4. When Joe Bloggs submits something an alert is sent to his correspondant.

5. Have a progress bar displaying the progress within a task and an a progress bar for overall progress covering all tasks.

These are just some of the things I need!

Oh and just to rub it in, i've got a limited amount of time.

Ahhhhhh! anyone got any ideas?????????? or should I just sit in a corner and cry?

Richie

Certifications: Village Idiot Award
    WIP: working towards everything..
  2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

I'd cry to be honest.

You haven't really provided enough detail here to make any meaningful comments - such as what does the whole thing do? What kind of user input is expected? How are correspondents to be notified? If this on an Intranet, or does it have to work via the web?

If that's all you have to go on, I'd give your boss a pad of paper and some crayons...

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  3. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I'd agree with Jonny - you need a proper specification.

Yes - I know such things are rare, but you need to make it clear that developing a complex system without a spec means basicaly producing a mess which everyone will hate!

Harry.