are system admin/engineers and network admins/engineers part of i.t support

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by mitufrim, Mar 16, 2012.

1. mitufrim

mitufrim Bit Poster

are system admin/engineers and network admins/engineers part of i.t support

the title says it all i just want the forums opinion

when most people think i.t support they think service desk.

2. Cunningfox

Cunningfox Byte Poster

Without a question yes. Depending on the size of the company they may not deal with 1st line issues but anywhere they would deal with 3rd line at least.

IT supports buisnesses so imo any IT role is arguably a support role

Certifications: CCNP, CCNA, MCP
    WIP: ??
    Boffy likes this.
  3. Boffy

Boffy Megabyte Poster

+1 Cunningfox

Certifications: BSc Computer Game Technology, A+
    WIP: MOS 2010
  4. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

Sorry but what else could they be? They are part of an IS \ IT team that supports the business.

I tell people I work in IT, if they ask more then I tell them more, I don't say I work in IT Support, start telling people you work in IT and they won't assume you're a hell desk peep, telling them you work in IT Support and they will.

Certifications: CNA | CNE | CCNA | MCP | MCP+I | MCSE NT4 | MCSA 2003 | Security+ | MCSA:S 2003 | MCSE:S 2003 | MCTS:SCCM 2007 | MCTS:Win 7 | MCITP:EDA7 | MCITP:SA | MCITP:EA | MCTS:Hyper-V | VCP 4 | ITIL v3 Foundation | VCP 5 DCV | VCP 5 Cloud | VCP6 NV | VCP6 DCV | VCAP 5.5 DCA
  5. danielno8

danielno8 Gigabyte Poster

agreed with all answers here.

Certifications: CCENT, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  6. mitufrim

mitufrim Bit Poster

Thanks for the replies

in the office i am known as the I.T guru.

or the middle man

or hey your the one who does the technical support here.

or the dude who does I.T

or the technical person based on some project managers and some sales people

what do they really think of me:cry:

7. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

Not a lot??