APIPA outside the LAN

Discussion in 'Networks' started by Boycie, May 6, 2006.

1. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Just had a call from someone who's computer is looked after by myself. Blimey, is that bad grammer or what!
    Anyhow, they have a USB ADSL modem which plays up from time to time (i have advised Connecting via a network card is prefered and at last they have agreed for me to replace it with a Netgear one!). This call was the usual *cant get on the Net*. Then they could then they couldn't.... At the time they called, according to the caller Network connections was displaying an APIPA address :blink .
    Now i know (i am studying hard for N+ :tune) you can't get outside your LAN when issued with an APIPA address so does anyone think the only possible explanation is the address is being cached in some way because of the *dropping in and out* of communication?
    As always your thoughts are appreciated :)

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

we talking about an IP thats issued by the ISP provider (DHCP server i assume?) ? If the connection is getting a APIPA address (169) then that means the modem is failing to connect or synchronize with the ISP...

EDIT: could be a problem with the line.. or the USB (dont they also take a while to get their act together when first switched on?)

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  3. Boycie
    Honorary Member

yes, exactly what i thought Zim.... the modem connects directly to the ISP unlike something providing NAT which would display a Private IP. I think XP must be caching the APIPA and taking a little while to display the Public IP :biggrin

4. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

is the modem synchronizing? if its not them problem with the line or modem.. i really think this is a hardware problem and i got a feeling its the USB! :twisted:

5. Boycie
    Honorary Member