Any tips for self studying?

Discussion in 'CIW Certifications' started by IThurts, Feb 12, 2008.

1. IThurts

IThurts Kilobyte Poster

Prob going to go for the CIW foundation slf study method...any tips for self studying that you guys find invaluable?:oops:

Certifications: BTEC national Diploma Computer Studies
    WIP: See Sig
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Self study is easy if you are motivated enough.

Get the books read and re-read until you understand the concepts invloved. In your case I would make a portfolio of designs and keep practicing designing untill you are confident then when you are ready take the exams and hopefully after you pass you'll have small portfolio to show to employers.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. BosonJosh

BosonJosh Gigabyte Poster

It's a been a LONG time since I studied for the CIW Foundations exam, but I remember that it was crucial to know the HTML tags. I'd grab an HTML book and start creating basic Web sites and using the HTML tags. The CIW Web site lists several third-party books and site that might be useful: LINK That'd be where I would start. Good luck!

4. nellyp123

nellyp123 Byte Poster

Have a look on www.w3cschools.com for some really good tutorials on web design.
    Also have a look on www.lynda.com which i use everyday :biggrin

But you will really find it hard to find decent up-to-date books on CIW. To be honest...i thought about doing the last exam ( E-commerce) but couldn't find enough decent study material. And these U.K distributors are just ripping people off!
    It cost me $150 ( 79 pounds) for the site designer material off the CIW web site and within three months they stopped shipping it all to the U.K. When i looked at the U.K sellers, they where and still are, charging treble that!!!!!!! :x

So, you will find it hard m8, and i wish you all the luck! A tip though: Try looking on Ebay? :biggrin