Any network engineers here?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by nisseki, Nov 19, 2017.

1. nisseki

nisseki Byte Poster

Good morning all,

I hope you're enjoying the weekend.

Any network engineers on this board or anyone know one?

I am in the progress of studying for my CCNA and my question is due to more companies going to Cloud platforms such as Azure and SDN, has this had any effect on the field?

Are more network engineers learning things like Python, VMware ?

What technologies and skillset do you use on a daily basis? And any skills you're learning for the future?

Many thanks and kind regards,

2. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Hi @nisseki, I wasn't a network engineer but I was a systems admin looking after a VMware infrastructure. If I were you, in addition to your Cisco knowledge/studies, I would look into VMware NSX as like servers, network virtualisation is growing each day. I'd particularly focus on NSX and how this enables the software defined datacentre SDDC

Certifications: VCP4, 5, 6, 6.5, 6.7, 7, 8, VCAP DCV Design, VMConAWS Skill, Google Cloud Digital Leader, BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VSP, VTSP
    WIP: Google Cloud Certs
  3. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster