Another's newbie start

Discussion in 'General CompTIA Certifications' started by ashan, Feb 18, 2012.

1. ashan

ashan New Member

Hello people!
    Glad that I am here. I just want to kick start studying and I am so eager.
    I am passionate about IT, though after finishing a IT&C High school in my country I choosed economics and drifted away from IT.
    So basically experience=none, with a PC operator certificate worth=zero.
    I just studied basic HW, MS SW- Office pack and stuff, at that time there was Win 98. Borland Pascal, Html and that's about it.

Bottomline I am a newbie. At this time I am in the UK in Scotland. I have the time to study but didn't have all that money that some school ask for the courses, so I am glad that I realized is possible to study and take the exam independently.

I just want to start from scratch to get an entry level job next year. This year I will study and try to make voluntary somewhere (I am not allowed to do payed work until...mid 2013. So I have plenty of time for study and volunteering.

So A+ is the start for me, right?

Quick as I need to get started, what should I do first? Buy the book? or book the exam? are the exam dates fixed or you can choose whatever date you want? Should I hurry booking or is not a hassle? Say i could book in mid march for april? or I have to early book?
    Which book do you recommend and where to buy from? I know that there's one on amazon highly rated but it seems is outdated?!?
    I am not looking into money aspect, I just want to learn, really want to work for free to gain experience and maybe next year hopefully get an entry level job so I can earn more money for future studying.

Forgot to say I am 26. I think it's not to late?! I know that for programming and developing it is.
    What do you think? Is it ok if i take a+ (both) and n+ this year? or is too much? I actually want to get a Microsoft cert also this year.

Thanks for reading and for your support!

2. Kitkatninja