another newbie

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by pete1, Apr 4, 2008.

1. pete1

pete1 Bit Poster

hi everyone just introducing myself and saying hello.

joined this forum cus looking at a career in i.t. and wanted some advice. ive been looking at long distance learning and the courses available. i have basic computer knowledge having used one for a number of years now. mcse looks the main one but would i be better off doing CompTIA A+ and Network+ first as a starting point. can anyone reccomend any companies who do long distance learning.

all advice welcome and once again hello to all :biggrin

Certifications: ECDL
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. pete1

pete1 Bit Poster

cheers harry and thanks for welcoming me. if you any advice on my post it would be greatly accepted

4. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome :)

Yes you should start with the A+ & N+ as in regards to distance learning, have you not thought about self studying.

Here's how distance learning works: you pay a large some of money to a company, they send you some books which you have to read yourself and the may provide you with some support & the odd training day.

Self study is exactly the same but you do not have to pay out a large some of money, to get some books you could get yourself and if you need advice you can ask on here. As for the practicle side you could get your self a cheap computer from a computer fair or recycling centre.

If you feel you need a course you are best looking at your local college.

And lastly you should not attempt the MCSE until you have been working in a relevant job for around a year.

Good luck.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  5. stutheview

stutheview Byte Poster

Hi Pete and welcome.