Advice please... Thinking Of Becoming An IT Worker

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by applethunder, Jul 2, 2014.

1. applethunder

applethunder New Member

Hi Guys,

I would like some advice please. Was advised to come here by someone on CAG.

I would like to try and gain entry into the ICT Support technician or service desk job. I would like some advice on how best to go about getting my foot in the door and which courses I should start with?

I am 35 years and have been unemployed for 4 years now and am really in need of a job. I do have some experience of working with computers and working on websites. Any advice/ information would be greatly appreciated. I have a degree in Economics & Law a 2.2 from 2003.

Thanks for reading.

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Depending on your finances, have you considered trying for an apprenticeship (if your in the UK)? It's not just for the youngsters :)

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. BraderzTheDog

BraderzTheDog Kilobyte Poster

Agreed on the apprenticeship way, I've done it and worked for me. I would also recommend since you have some time on your hands self studying in the area you want to join, do a desktop support certification and computing principles such as:

Comptia A+
    Microsoft Enterprise Desktop Support certification

It will make you much or appealing to potential employers should you have something official on your C.V.

Finally, network... Get yourself on LinkedIn, start adding recruiters from IT recruitment agencies, have a few phone calls and tell them what your about. Chances are they have jobs you are looking for, they don't always advertise as this is expensive and they have a database full of candidates back end.

Best of luck.

Last edited: Jul 2, 2014