Advice on getting started???

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by jono1999, Jan 14, 2007.

1. jono1999

jono1999 New Member

Hiya all, hows things? :D

Im new to the forum and also im new to IT.

Ive started the A+ course (and after that the N+) and i am looking for any advice anyone has, from how to gain some experience to what to expect from the course.

Cheers in advance to anyone who can help!!

Certifications: none at all
    WIP: A+
  2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

Hi and welcome to CF! :biggrin

How are you studying for these courses? The A+ will give you a solid foundation in computer hardware and software that will enable to progress to something more difficult like Network+. Studying for the A+ should involve alot of hands-on as well, pulling components out and putting them back in and possibly building a pc from scratch!

The book everyone seems to use and is the "best" book on the market is A+ Certification All-in-one Exam Guide

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  3. jono1999

jono1999 New Member

Im doing it with Scheiddeger. Its going well so far but one thing is worrying me. There are lots of tables with specifications for all kinds of stuff. Surely you dont have to remember all of these right?:eek:

Whats in the book?

4. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

Nope you need to know them!

Hard drive standard... cpu speeds...cable speeds... the whole lot!:biggrin

5. jono1999

jono1999 New Member

Seems a bit much to remember!

Are you studying for it or have you passed?

6. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

Just make sure you make some notes and highlight the areas you are not sure on then write some question on your weak areas.