Advice on big decision

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by jodsclass, Oct 18, 2006.

1. jodsclass

jodsclass Byte Poster

Hey Guys. Not been on here for a while. I have been very busy since I started as a Web Developer 4 months back. The problem is, i hate the job. I'm classed as a junior but my workload is at senior level. Furthermore, we have no senior developers, just me and another junior (who knows very little and is constantly seeking my help). So technically im teaching myself, and earning a tiny wage, whilst the workload and stress continues to mount on me.

Ive Decided that

A) I don't like development, and prefer it as a hobby as it has always been for me

B) I'm a technician through and through, I deal with servers and such at work and I'm solely responsible for our rackspace Colo servers (which is the only positive aspect of my job)

C) I want to concentrate on my certs, I need and want to get certified and feel like I have lost focus on my goals.

The idea my wife and I have had, is that I quit my job at the end of November with 6 months experience under my belt, and spend December and January finishing off my A+ and Network+. Obviously this is a big step to take, to leave my job and study whilst my wife brings home the bacon. Do you guys think I'm approaching this right?

Thanks for your help

Jodsclass

P.S. There are many other reasons for me to leave this posistion including poor management, poor working environment and no opportunity for progression.

Certifications: BSc IT & Web Development
    WIP: MSc Advanced Computing, Oracle Cert
  2. Baba O'Riley

Baba O'Riley Gigabyte Poster

I suppose it depends on what you can afford.

One question, how can you be a junior developer if there are no seniors? Surely you're just a plain vanilla developer! Have you raised these problems with your boss, you could always try asking for more money, especially if you're going to leave anyway. Use it as a bargaining tool.

Certifications: A+, Network+